2016 goals


The Lilypad

NEW YEAR new you. Sounds like a phrase everyone will be saying this week. The majority of New Years Resolution’s” tend to lean towards heath and exercise, money saving and deciding to do more of something. Most resolutions are un reachable, a lot of us tend to think we’re some sort of super human to be able to achieve the extraordinary. Don’t get me wrong, if you put your mind to it then anything is possible, but realistically speaking someone trying to lose 2 stone a week or able to run a marathon in 30 minutes who’s never ran a day since secondary school seems a bit far fetched.

I don’t DO resolutions, I do goals. Something more tangible that’s also measurable. In august I wrote my mid year goals post, trying to make the most of the rest of 2015, and it went something like this:

  1. Do something with my hair
    (Done! Had a shorter cut, layers and fringe in September)
  2. Regularly update my blog and youtube channel
    (Sort of done. I’ve definitely been updating my blog on the regular but my youtube could use a little TLC)
  3. Take bluebell for walks more often (before it gets too cold 
    (DONE! We’ve got into a morning routine, I have my breakfast then we go for a walk, she then gets her breakfast afterwards)
  4. Write more songs
    (Even thought I’ve been in the studio recently it still doesn’t mean I’ve written any more material)
  5. Go out and enjoy life
    This just hasn’t happened.

So I guess hitting 2.5 out of the 5 goals I had set for august is pretty much an achievement. I mean I’m the kinda person who says something and never does it, never actually finishes anything, so this is a great accomplishment (go sabrina!)

For 2016, I’ve decided to give myself goals in 4 different categories: Weight & Health, Exercise, Lifestyle, Music and Business. Every month I’m going to set a specific smaller goal for each of these categories so I can actually achieve the bigger goal by the end of the year. I’m hoping that taking baby steps each month to achieve the “bigger picture” is what’s going to help me accomplish things this year.
By the end of the year I want to accomplish:

Weight and health:
1. My goal weight/ be able to wear and buy from normal size shops
2. To feel confident and productive in my life

Exercise
1. Run a 5k in 35mins
2. To enjoy regular exercise

Lifestyle
1. Have a minimalist approach to my things
2. To have an organisation system in place
3. To have a clear mind and clear body

Music and business
1. Reach 1,000 youtube subscribers
2. Have 1,500 mailing list subscribers
3. Have regular interactions on all my SM outlets

Let me know if you have any goals for 2016 and how you plan to accheive them.

Leave a Reply

